Tor Project: Alexa Top Sites Captcha and Block Monitoring

The Tor Project: Alexa Top Sites Captcha and Tor Block Monitoring

Hey all,
This is Apratim from India. I’m a final year student and I’m excited to be a part of GSoC 2021.

About My Project

My project will be focused on tracking the Alexa Top 500 Websites to get a detailed knowledge of websites returning Captchas or limiting functionalities or blocking Tor clients. The project aims to do so by fetching webpages over a period of time from both Tor clients and non tor browsers (the mainframe ones). More details about the project could be found in here. and blog posts could be seen here.

My Time Zone

Indian Standard Time (UTC +5:30)

Getting in Touch

You could reach me out in here:
irc : _ranchak_ ( OFTC ) in tor channels (#tor, #tor-dev)
GitHub
LinkedIn

Looking forward to have a learn lots!

Community Bonding Period:

It’s been quite late from my previous update. Asked @downey and @pili if it were okay, and they seemed fine with a blog post describing the summary of the past two weeks as a whole :slightly_smiling_face:

Communication:

Earlier this week I was asked to create issues in the gitlab.tpo that provides me with the usage of gitlab, which I’m new to and at the same time it also helps in tracking down the project. I also planned with my mentor about weekly meetings to give them updates, also I try to be active in irc to help with the conversations and try to find answers that I could possibly give off to members or even random people who look for help.

Work:

I first tried installing the Captcha Monitor with the help of my mentor, but the tor part of the application didn’t work in my laptop, thus I couldn’t get connected to tor using the application. Since it didn’t work, I was advised to not waste much time there and write my scripts, and start with the experimentation, which would be of a great benefit to the project as well as me.