Tor Project: Developing Unit, Integration and E2E tests for OONI Probe Desktop apps

Tor Project: Developing Unit, Integration and E2E tests for OONI Probe Desktop apps

About Me

Hello! I am Shivam Shekhar Pathak. I am a pre-final year student of Mathematics and Computing from India.

About My Project

My project involves writing a comprehensive suite of tests for the OONI Probe Desktop applications and automating these tests when a PR is opened to make sure the proposed contributions to the codebase are non-breaking.

My Time Zone

Indian Standard Time (UTC +5:30)

Getting in Touch

GitHub: @eddges
Twitter: @shehges
Mail: sshekhar1159@gmail.com

1 Like

Week 1 and Week 2 (Community Bonding Period)

• Joined the gsoc-2021 slack channel at OONI.
  • Was warmly welcomed into the OONI community along with another student. Learned about the bi-weekly sprint structure at OONI.
  • Discussed the project plans and the timeline with mentors.
  • Familiarised myself with the libraries and tools required to accomplish the goals of my project.
  • Read about various APIs exposed by Jest and react-testing-library so as to understand possible assertion types.
  • Set up a feedback cycle with my primary mentor @sarath_ms

Some demo tests I wrote during these initial weeks can be found in the repository:

1 Like

Week 3 (May 31 to June 6)

After reading about and understanding the tools and libraries required to work on my project, my goal for this week was to familiarize myself with the current code-base and make configuration changes to facilitate writing unit tests.

During this week, I

• had a meeting with my mentor where we planned out the roadmap for the current week.
  • modified the babel and jest configurations to enable ES6 support in the root directory.
  • received helpful pointers from my mentor in setting up testing for visual correctness
  • wrote dummy tests in the repository
  • created a Pull Request for review

Link for the PR